IMG_0923.JPGOK. While I’m not exactly obsessing over last night’s Fesenjan Fiasco, my wife revealed to me that her auto-immune condition in her gums was acting up again so she would appreciate if I could make my cooking a bit more…sedate and potentially soothing to her poor, recovering inner gums.

When I suggested a risotto to her, she seemed happy and texted some joy to me, so I started to look into some recipes. I really wanted to do crab (even though I’m not a big fan of that crustacean–too lazy to crack legs and such and fight my way to the meat of the matter) but the crab…even the stuff in a little 6oz can was over $8 and I’d easily need two cans, so…

Pressure Cooker Clam Risotto was born. No drum roll, I’m sure that this has been done before, so I got myself some arborio rice, a couple of cans of chopped clams, and a jar of clam juice and went to town.

Process? Simplicity itself. Sauté onions and some garlic in the pan, add a piece of anchovy and mix it in. Add your arborio rice and stir so that all rice gets some oil and flavor covering it. Add some white wine to deglaze the pan and get those slightly charred bits out and about into the sauce. Add your chopped clams.

Here’s how it looks over the course of cooking.

IMG_5527.JPG

IMG_5528.JPG

IMG_5529.JPG

IMG_5530.JPG

IMG_5531.JPG

IMG_5533.JPG

Close the lid, bring to pressure, and cook for seven minutes.

Taste it for seasonings and texture. If it still seems to watery, simply turn up the heat and continue to cook it a bit till it reaches the right consistency. Add some reggiano parmesano (or as I chose, some grated sapore del piave and chives for garnish; maybe a pat of butter or olive oil, and enjoy dinner with a nice glass of white wine. Serve some roasted broccoli on the side for a complete meal.

A quick check finds the risotto perfectly cooked though in need of a bit more salt, so I added a couple of pinches. I also note that it could use a tiny bit more moisture (in my opinion) so I’m going to add a splash of this cheapo Sauvignon Blanc I bought tonight–which we are also drinking with dinner.

Note: the broccoli was a bit overcooked and could stand a lower temperature and perhaps a shorter roasting time.

Secondary Note: you have to wonder if Italian restaurants might do this themselves, simply to get the meal on the table, save the cooks and sous chefs some extra work, and yet still get a decent dish plated. Of course, if they really were to do this, pressure cookers aren’t cheap and are easily close to $100 apiece if not more, and who knows how many of these pressure cookers a restaurant might need? Interesting thought.

