IMG_0911.JPG

When the hour is late and its time to make dinner, maybe by 930 you’re not thinking steak and potatoes for dinner, so something simple and available is probably the ticket. I had some naan bread left over so I pulled out the one solid round I had and started rummaging through the refrigerator.

Hmm. A piece of Humboldt Fog goat cheese. My wife looked at it with suspicion and said, “Blue cheese? I’m not eating that,” she warned. I grunted with mild exasperation and pointed out: “Goat cheese. Delicious.” Then returned to my slow sauté of half an onion in butter and olive oil, which would be the base of the pizza ‘sauce’. I added some dried thyme to the onions and continued stirring.

Looks like blue cheese”, she said. Huh. Still suspicious.

Once the onions were done, I shaved off some of the Humboldt Fog and sprinkled it over the onions. I grabbed a handful of toasted walnuts I had previously warmed up, crunched them in my fist, and spread those out, too over the onions. As a final touch, I tore up a few small anchovies and spread them over the mixture.

All into the oven at about 375F for 10 minutes till a warmed, crispy brown on the edges. Lovely. As a final touch, I drizzled pomegranate molasses over the entire, savory assemblage and hoped for the best.

My wife was floored. “Delicious”, she squeaked between bites. The crunchy walnuts, gentle sweetness of the onions and the salty hit of the anchovies, all layered with the delicate sweetness of the pomegranate molasses made for a very nice flavor combination that hit in layers and layers.

Some days it all seems to come together, mysteriously. The key to being a creative cook, at least to me, rests in simply this….cooking and baking a lot, trying out new recipes and cuisines, and generally familiarizing myself with my pallet of flavors and cooking techniques. Then…mysteriously, without looking at cookbooks and recipes, an open refrigerator and pantry’s offerings just suggest their own answers, all coming out of the framework of one’s experience in the kitchen.

It’s a happy day!

