IMG_0539-0.JPGWifey had eaten a piece of the leftover Feuilleté Savoyard from the night before for lunch and wasn’t inclined for a repeat. Well, who could blame her (why this doesn’t apply to chocolate desserts is no mystery, however). And frankly, good as it was, that’s one damn rich piece of food.

Which is why guests are kinda important: someone has to take this $&%# home so the calories can be shared. Consequently, I opted tonight for a simple Parsnip Rösti and using some of the leftover classic Dijon mustard vinaigrette from the night before, though this time with asparagus rather than the steamed leeks.

A Rösti is pretty simply some shredded veggies mixed with a bit of flour and egg, then quickly fried in a skillet. Tonight it was a blend of parsnip and potato, but were that the end of the recipe, you would be using your mouth for yawning rather than expressing your joy at the sweet variations available.

Just prior to mixing the potato and parsnip shreds with egg and flour, I took some shallots and cooked them in a bit of olive oil and a thin sliver of butter till they were golden. At the last minute I added balsamic vinegar and a teaspoon of sugar which reduced and added a sweet and savory punch to the flavor mix. These little fried and sweet balsamic shallots took this dish from mundane to nearly magnificent.

After making the little Rösti pancakes I added a small dollop of cream cheese which I had thinned out with a bit of cream (had I had any creme fraiche that would have been a more than able substitute). I then put the thoroughly caramelized and balsamicized shallots on top and served, along with the asparagus and leftover vinaigrette.

Stellar. Simple, a wide swath of flavors, and also completely vegetarian. While I am a long way from going over to the side of vegetarianism, if I can continue to find recipes like this just as flavorful and healthy, well…no promises.

Particularly as in my fridge I have a pound of bacon, a half pound of ground veal, a pound of pork, and a half pound of chicken livers waiting to be turned into a French terrine de campagne. More on that later.

