IMG_0524-1.JPGDespite being awake at 6am, by 5pm I was anxious to cook. I texted a couple of our close friends and regular dinner guests to see if they wanted to get over the ‘hump of the week’ with a quick dropby on their ways home from work to enjoy a quick evening of ‘Found’ Tapas.

Found tapas are simply another way to describe ‘making do with what you got‘, so I started scrounging and here were a few items:

-dried shiitake mushrooms
-puff pastry
-fresh garbanzo beans in the shell
latas of mackerel and sardines (canned)
-frozen spinach
-leftover Ensaladilla Rusa

It proved to be enough. I had the basic ingredients for a batch of spinach empanadillas, a single serving of Ensaladilla rusa, champignons al Ajillo, and quickly sautéed fresh garbanzos (not to mention opening a ‘lata’ of canned mackerel).

Our friends, alas, were otherwise occupied, so I simply sent them pics of the food I made to let them realize what they were missing. Well, if they did, I can’t imagine wanting to head out into the crazy traffic out there, much less with the rain coming down.

IMG_0529-0.JPG

My only ingredient shortage were eggs–I’d used the last one for an egg wash on the empanadillas, so I took a quick bike ride to Mi Tierra grocery to grab the eggs in order to make two Pisco Sours.

IMG_0525.JPG

So as the rain drizzled down, I busily put together four different flavor directions and we had a nice evening of Spanish tapas, a Peruvian cocktail, and a peculiar sojourn into fresh garbanzo beans as a cocktail appetizer. Not too bad, taste wise with regards to the garbanzos, but a lot of effort for the payoff.

IMG_0526-0.JPG

IMG_0528-0.JPG

IMG_0527-0.JPG

IMG_0531.JPG

