IMG_0757.JPGI was in Barnes and Noble the other day…the same B&N in which a staffer instructed me to get up off the floor where I was sitting, not even blocking the fairly wide aisle, as I was in violation of local fire safety codes (whatever) and found a cookbook written by Buzzfeed maven…someone. This memory of ‘social injustice’ spurred my lack of political correctness in simply taking a smartphone pic of the recipe rather than spend $20 on the book.

Here is a sampling.

IMG_4749.JPG

IMG_4750.JPG

IMG_4747.JPG

As you can see, these are simply basic tricks that a single chick or guy in a rush might add to their limited cooking repertoire. And they seem like fun.

I was intrigued by the biscuit bowls page thinking that it had a lot of potential. As a ‘serious’ cook, I briefly hesitated about using such a mundane item as prepared Pillsbury biscuits but when I considered that I had no problem buying prepared puff pastry from Pepperidge Farm, what the hell…? Why be so high and mighty? The lowly Oscar Meyer wiener is simply a mass produced knockoff of what could arguably be called better sausages found anywhere, be it chorizo from Spain, bratwurst from Germany, or even bangers from England.

So I prepared them and be damned to the locavores, sustainability, animal rights, and all the rest of it– at least for today.

I cracked the canister on the edge of the sink and it popped lusciously, and I separated out the biscuits, all mechanically and perfectly formed. Tossed some flour on the board, and used a pestle to roll them out (a rolling pin being waay too big for this operation). I’d have used a wine bottle otherwise.

To make the biscuit bowls, after rolling them out, place them on the backsides of a muffin tin (or a popover pan) after spraying the bottoms with a bit of Pam or similar culinary lubricant. These get baked at about 350F for 12-17 minutes. Bake and put aside.

As an afterthought, I might have added some appropriate herbs to the biscuit dough but got caught up with the distraction of doping out what to put into the biscuit bowls.

IMG_4754.JPG

IMG_4755.JPG
Well, an egg, of course. Poached. Some cheese. I had ricotta and some prosciutto so that was that. I rummaged through the vegetable bin and found a third of an onion, half a yellow pepper, and half a green pepper, none of which was quite ready to become compost. Along with a soupçon of EVOO, I put all the sliced veggies along with some minced garlic into the pan and began the slow sauté to make a basque piperade. Not too dissimilar from ratatouille, there is a Basque as well as a Spanish version and the distinctions of difference are dependent on the individual cook and their own nationalistic pride.

For me, and since it was for breakfast, I wanted it done fairly quickly. Salt, pepper, and a bit of pimenton to make it more interesting. Sautéing only took about 10 minutes. I set aside the piperade mixture in a bowl and got started on the poached eggs.

From there it was simply assembly. The piperade mixture on the bottom, the egg on top, and then torn shreds of prosciutto with crumpled ricotta on top. I put the whole thing into the broiler until it occurred to me that ricotta wouldn’t (and didn’t) notice or care about the broiled heat…though the biscuits themselves ended up slightly charred at the top as a result.

IMG_4757.JPG

IMG_4758.JPG

A good result; very flavorful with a nice mix of mouth feel from the slurpy egg to the crisp biscuit shell. When sliced in half, the biscuit shell proved a decent scoop for the filling. You can see above the differences between the popover and muffin pan bowl shapes. The popover shape is taller, but both shapes needed a slight trimming at the bottom to allow for them to sit upright (they aren’t called ‘bowls’ for nothing.

And I’ve got a freezer with about six more shells to make…something else down the line.

