20140829-195549-71749333.jpgI left work a bit early yesterday, mildly concerned that I was overreacting and that six days straight working had gotten to me, and that the cold I felt coming on (congestion, fatigue, sore throat) was simply NOT real and was a handy rationalization.

That night’s piss poor sleep convinced me, as I woke up only partially rested, thinking that my long weekend off would get trampled on by both a bad cold and a bit of required monthly inventory which I had to go into on Sunday.

Late morning found me at a nearby coffee shop, lethargically surfing the web, sipping a cortado and some passable scones, and considering my day. If I hadn’t felt so crappy I’d have been more productive, but well…I did, so rest was the order of the day. Tomorrow, Saturday, would find us with friends at the Savor Filipino food event in San Francisco but today…as soon as an erg of energy appeared, I started thinking about dinner.

I had been looking for a book about cooking a certain ubiquitous Asian snack food on and off now and when I saw Dumplings All Day Wong by Lee Anne Wong, I knew what was for dindin that night.

I had a few duck confit legs in the freezer and pulled one out for the planned meal, nuked it to sorta-room temperature, and fried it up in the skillet. I let the meat rest and get down to a comfortable temperature and then shredded it, then added the rest of the dumpling filling which included some fresh ricotta, ginger, shallot, diced dried apricot, and some other typical Asian ingredients.

The pairing of the stone fruit with the sweet marinade worked nicely with the duck confit dumplings, all dressed out on a platter of arugula and served with rice. The ‘sweet soy sauce’ wasn’t really necessary, or could have been made less sweet. I thought to replace it with arrope as a dressing the next time.

Maybe it was my cold slowing my brain down, but I didn’t get another shot of the final plate and presentation. Wifey rather enjoyed it with some minor reservations (too sweet and mouth flavor confusion) and I’ll certainly make this again, but for me, the key was to successfully make dumplings–which made the entire afternoon a success for me.

20140829-195640-71800816.jpg

I’m beginning to understand the versatility of these little bite-size morsels–they can be fried, steamed, cooked in broths and soup, and they easily freeze either cooked or not for almost immediate use. In my freezer I’ve got a pound of dumpling filling waiting for the right visitors to just drop by.

But they will have to help me wrap, though. That’s the deal.

