20140825-215058-78658813.jpgThere is little more exasperating to me than seeing a recipe that grabs me…and then, after having put together a list of ingredients, to not remember where I saw the recipe.

Was it the latest issue of Saveur or Bon Appetit? Was it the digital edition…or was it one of my cookbooks? A pic taken somewhere out of a magazine or cookbook? #%$&!

Couldn’t find it. So while on my lunch break I hit the Internet and found it…sorta. Originally it called for karaishi mentaiko, a sort of Japanese fish roe (is that redundant?) that is marinated in some sort of chili. Yeah, I know– doesn’t sound very Japanese, but there you are.

Given my time, I knew that finding the spicy roe wasn’t going to happen so I…adapted. I saw ikura roe at The Bowl as well as flying fish roe (tobiko). The former was $12 and delicious, I knew, and the latter…well, $3.49 and yeah, it was roe. Well, ok.

20140825-215008-78608572.jpg

I did half a recipe with regular spaghetti, presumably enough for two people (though for we two enough for two plus one leftover for lunch) and cooked it to al dente and meanwhile prepared the sauce.

1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp soy sauce
1/2 T butter
1 tsp lemon juice
Kosher salt to taste

Add the sauce to the pasta and divide between two bowls. Garnish with slivers of dried nori (suggestion: toast it a bit first), as well as with some furikake to punch it up (furikake is a Japanese-style seasoning, usually a mix of seaweed, sesame seeds, katuso flakes etc.–there are several types great on veggies or rice…or on pasta, it appears.

For a side I served a small bowl of Japanese and Korean pickles which served as a nice complement to the pasta. Go figure– pickles and pasta. Well, it worked!

