20140813-194914-71354501.jpgTonight I was simply grasping at straws, trying to find a nice recipe for a couple of Trader Joe’s sockeye salmon fillets, and so I had to rely on the Internet. The first place I chose to look was the New York Times column by David Tanis, City Kitchen. I find his recipes often simple and delicious and generally reliable, so I have begun to hope that this dish, Wild Salmon with Green Sauce might fill the bill for a midweek dinner. The mystery is always– it looks good and reads good, but does it taste good?

As ever, the key was to use what I had on hand, so I started with the salmon fillets, bought some chervil and parsley, some mixed yellow and green beans, and hoped that the new potatoes in the bottom of my refrigerator would be salvageable. They were, though I was fortunate that of the three or four shallots I had which were starting to turn a bluer shade of red, I managed to find half the shallot I needed…once the exterior layers were removed.

So…the process. Boil the potatoes for 15 minutes, set aside. In the same water, cook and parboil the green and yellow beans for 3-5 minutes. Set aside. Bake the seasoned salmon fillets for 10-12 minutes…which proved a bit too long. Next time a bit shorter and timed to finish closer to the other items. Meanwhile, make the green sauce with shallots macerated in red wine vinegar, salt, and added Dijon mustard, lemon juice and zest, capers (or use Caperberries as I needed to), and drizzle in some olive oil.

Lay out your green and yellow beans dressed with a bit of the green sauce, lay your now skinless salmon fillets atop the pile of beans, and garnish with the sauce and some chervil and parsley. Pass the potatoes around and keep the sauce at the table. Maybe a nice white wine.

Oh. And at the last minute wait ten minutes for the hard boiled egg to finish to add as part of the garnish, only to crack it open to realize that its only nearly hard boiled and still soft in the middle. Pick out the best pieces of the egg and garnish the plate, realizing that the extra time waiting has not been overly kind to your sitting salmon fillet…

Came out very nice, even though the salmon was a bit overcooked. Very nice dinner and the plating was very lovely.

