20140804-072115-26475305.jpg

Ahh…breakfast!

I had been itching to have a taste of my recently baked pogača bread so toast certainly made sense for breakfast, and a couple of poached eggs? Why not, as poached are marginally healthier than fried…or maybe even more than marginally.

I’ve been getting closer to getting the eggs done to the proper consistency with the poaching process: I prefer mine to be at a soft boiled stage, where the yolk is just starting to ooze apart when cut, whereas my wife likes hers cooked nearly to the hard boiled stage. It’s all a matter of timing but other than knowing that. 3-4 minutes is about right for my own, I haven’t gotten it down to a science yet. Eventually.

The bread was toasted and rubbed with a bit of olive oil, sliced into ‘fingers’, and served on a small plate with fleur de sel and freshly ground pepper.

