Greek Salad with no tricks

Greek Salad with no tricks

I had feta from a supplier, trying to sell us his brand. Good enough, but it was passed over, and I had a nice piece of feta for dinner. So Greek Salad presented itself, with no surprises. Red bell, green bell, heirloom tomato, half a cucumber, kalamata olives, and red onion. Vinaigrette of lemon juice, oregano, and EVOO. No added salt required due to the ingredients list.

Not to end there, I threw together some hummus from a recipe claiming that it was the best, simplest way to make it successfully. The secret? Blend the tahini and lemon juice first. Well, maybe. I’m a firm believer in the notion that food processors aren’t picky and were I to have thrown it all together including garlic, garbanzos, and olive oil from the get- go, a few minutes of high speed rotation would have given me a similar result. Still…who can say?

Acceptable hummus fer sher

Acceptable hummus fer sher

For a drink, I opted for a Rosemary Ginger Vodka Cocktail, beginning with muddled rosemary steeped in vodka, followed by a spritz of ginger liquor and lemon juice.

Rosemary Ginger Lemon Vodka Cocktail...hmmm.

Rosemary Ginger Lemon Vodka Cocktail…hmmm.

Prettty nasty, in no small part due to my use of ginger liquid rather than liquor. Too strong by half, and so I added some simple syrup to the mix to counter the excessive heat of the ginger and what resulted was an eminently forgettable drink.

No, yeah, it wasn’t wonderful. I might try it again if I’m willing to pony up for some ginger liquor. Don’t hold your breath.

