Strawberry, fava bean, and pecorino shavings with arugula

Strawberry, fava bean, and pecorino shavings with arugula

Summertime and more salads for us, I think. I put on about 3-4 lbs in the last few weeks due in no small part to eating, I believe, too many fries with my lunchtime sandwiches at the Berkeley Bowl Cafe.

My my wife isn’t a big fan of arugula (it’s not on The List but is being considered.) so when I thought that Strawberry and Fava Bean Salad with Pecorino might make a nice start for dinner, I knew that the arugula with which it would be mixed  would be suspect in her eyes. Fava beans aren’t a regular part of most people’s diets unless you are middle eastern and from the Levant. The particular beans I got from the can didn’t have a great deal of taste to either of our perceptions, but added a nice texture. The strawberries were cherry-picked for lushest appearance, and the dressing was a simple and equal combination of EVOO, lemon juice, and balsamic vinegar.

Remarkably good and my wife’s only complaint was that there was ‘too much dressing’ so no worries on that score.  On this hot evening, the salad was perfect and brightened up our kitchen despite the still plentiful early evening sunlight.

We enjoyed a pretty cheap bottle of Pinot Grigio on the side as well as a couple of calzone made by Vince the kitchen manager at Berkeley Bowl West.

