I didn’t do any shopping today at all–as a matter of fact, even though I often happily visit my place of employ (Berkeley  Bowl West), I actually had all the ingredients I needed from the days before.

It was a spectacularly beautiful day; the kind where you roll down the car windows and crank up the volume, but after only a few hours, I surrendered the car to its space in front of the house and got on my bike to visit a local coffee shop to write, read, and relax. Caffe Trieste was filled to the brim with soccer fans watching the World Cup proceedings. I snagged a table that allowed me to look up and watch the fans themselves, all turned toward the large-screen TV set above me, but I was concentrating on my graphic novel.

Farfalle with Peas and Prosciutto was a singularly delicious, subtly flavored dish. Start with the onions and prosciutto in a bit of olive oil and sauté for several minutes.

Prosciutto and onion sautéing in EVOO

Prosciutto and onion sautéing in EVOO

Follow with the peas and a couple of tablespoons of butter…then add the peas and all you need is the actual pasta.

image

 

Add some shaved Parmesan if you’re inclined and your main course is ready.

The finished dish!

The finished dish!

 

 

For the side dish of Cucumber Dill Salad, simply slice red onion very thinly and marinate in a mix of rice wine vinegar, Dijon mustard, and some salt and pepper. On a warm summer- ish day, it goes very nicely with the pasta.

Thinly sliced English cucumber with dill and pickled red onion!

Thinly sliced English cucumber with dill and pickled red onion!

 

My wife wasn’t overly impressed with the pasta dish till she almost finished it, enjoying the subtleties of flavor she discovered. The cuke salad was an instant hit with her. Good.

For dessert, some organic peaches and a few fresh figs. And we may share a remaining chocolate mousse.

