20140610-221129.jpg

My wife asked me to not bother her with any dinner offers to her tonight (I got off at 8Pm) so I took the opportunity to make a possibly spicy soup with a bit of heat. So–in this magazine of vegetarian cooking highlighting local Farmer’s Market produce available at this time of year, I opted for a quick 30 minute prepped soup: Corn and Chipotle Soup with Radish-Avocado Salsa.

So about 830PM tonight, I started to heat up some diced onion and garlic, added some frozen corn and ground coriander, and then a couple of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. Woo! Spicy, by two. I added it after tasting it and smiled in anticipation. Woo…heat! And pretty low calorie to boot.

Once all was cooked, I inserted the immersion blender and turned it to mush, tearing up the chipotle peppers and distributing the adobo sauce.

I diced up a couple of radishes and half an avocado, added a squirt of a couple of teaspoons of lime juice, mixed it all together, and put a couple of tablespoons on top of the soup as a garnish.

The soup was simple and tasty , while the chipotles in adobo sauce added a sweet and smoky heat. Yum diddleedum.

And enough leftover for the next day’s lunch.

