20140602-082011.jpg
A long day, a lot of walking, and a lot of dragging around our purchases when you don’t have a car available. Well, it keeps us both active and exercising which we like, giving us the ‘challenge’ of doping out local bus schedules, coping with our actions dolefully reminding us of how my mother-in-law traipsed the city with a shopping rollcart behind her, and for my wife, seeing the world from a very different perspective. Riding BART daily is one thing–taking the 72 on San Pablo quickly becomes street theater half the time.

Again, necessity is the bitch of invention–I had three small avocados ripe and ready, so it called for guacamole on this mildly warm evening. The recipe is fairly simple:
~two large avocados
~half a sweet onion
~half a cup of cilantro (though I used parsley this time around)
~2 tablespoons of lime juice
~kosher salt to taste (1tsp or so seemed adequate)
~jalapeño or habanero, diced, if your wife doesn’t squawk

You know what to do–c’mahn, everybody knows how to make guacamuckinfole!

I also bought a pound bag of frozen lobster shrimp which I cooked in salted water till they turned pinkish, ran cold water over them, and put them in the fridge while I made the cocktail sauce.

Cocktail Sauce is pretty straightforward. Ketchup (6T), lemon juice (half a lemon or to taste), and a hot element, be it Tabasco, though this night I used Sambal Oelek, an Indonesian type of chili paste…again, to taste. I also added a teaspoon of horseradish, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, and mixed.

Odd to note, my wife preferred the spicier one I had prepared for myself (her dipping sauce contained no horseradish or chili paste), so once again…imagine the difficulties in preparing food for her and her condition. As I generally eschew heat in any form, sometimes…sometimes it actually works for her. Aagh.

Chips weren’t bad, though I’m no connoisseur of such things. The margaritas were excellent using calamansi simple syrup, lime juice, and a nice reposado tequila. On the rocks.

20140602-082223.jpg

Cocktails, man. They can be so good. We even went out and got a rolling cart to put the growing supply of spirits and Liquors onto. Where will it all end?

20140602-082345.jpg

