20140524-204327.jpg
No, I haven’t sold out to a manufacturer (but I would in a Texas minute) yet but while shopping around for a vacuum food saver system, I saw units ranging in price from $70 to $140 at Target. Perhaps reasonable, but then I figured– do I need to spend that much?

Why did I want the device? Well, mostly for preparing duck confit. When I prepare this dish, it requires a hellish amount of duck fat to fill out a pan–six to eight cups, easily. All this duck fat isn’t cheap, and a tub of this reasonably priced is about $8 (2 cups) so for perhaps six duck legs alone, the duck legs themselves run about $4-5 apiece and the amount of duck fat in addition can run about the same. $10 per leg seems a bit crazy, which makes the pricing for the grocery store’s prepared duck confit legs practically reasonable.

Now, I could cheat a bit and cook these up in rendered pork fat or even a large amount of neutral vegetable oil but…I’m just hesitant to see how it would turn out.

Answer? After marinating the duck legs in their salt, thyme, and parsley etc mixture, add about a cup of duck fat to each of the two legs in each bag, pop them into these Foodsaver bag, press the handheld unit up against the appropriate spot on the bag, and in about 10-15 seconds, the bag is sealed!

Why? You’re using a helluva lot less duck fat in each bag and the cost of the legs is virtually halved. Not to mention, the convenience.

Rather than immerse six to eight duck legs in several cups of the duck fat, you place the sealed bags into a pot of boiling water and cook them on the stove.

This Foodsaver Fresh Saver device is pretty amazing, and while I’m not sure if this little item will hold up over the years, for my simple, initial purposes of saving money at making duck confit…so far, so good.

Duck Confit

The Foodsaver Fresh Saver handheld unit is about $29.99 at Target, but you ought to be able to get it online cheaper. Bags are also necessary, usually in quart or gallon sizes and range In price.

