20140424-201532.jpg

Here’s another recipe right out of David Tanis’ One Good Dish cookbook published last year. Its a simple yellowfin tuna steak aggressively seasoned with rosemary, crushed fennel seed, garlic, and black pepper.

With some changes. For one thing, my wife is not keen on fennel in nearly any form, so I simply replaced it with dill powder. Also, given that my wife’s odd immune deficiency condition manifests in an interior rash to her mouth when she eats spicy things–even too much black pepper. I’ve had a hard time accepting that even black pepper would result in a gum reaction on her part, but after tonight’s…discussion, I’ve definitely added black pepper to The List.

Flavors were strong, though perhaps a bit less pepper might have worked better (and none for my wife) given her condition. She has explained to me for months now her sensitivities to spicy elements but I continue to have held on to the occasional dishes where the forbidden ingredients actually worked for her taste buds without repercussions.

Here the tuna sits with its pepper/dill/garlic/salt rub for about 30 minutes.

20140424-224936.jpg

So–I think its finally sunk in. Peppers, even black pepper, and to some extent even acidic vegetables will need to be reconsidered (tomatoes, much loved by her, will possibly remain). I figure if I can eschew regular dishes of excessive carbs for the two of us, the world of myriad cuisine is wide enough that the herbs and spices that cause her discomfort can also be, if not completely eliminated, then controlled and reduced.

Overall, my wife enjoyed the tuna piece and sincerely wants me to try it again–though this means much lighter pepper rub on her piece. The only advantage to this is that I could follow the original recipe and use fennel seed rather than the dill I replaced it with–at least on my piece.

And the roasted tomatoes with olive oil, thyme, and a bit of salt continue to be a hit with her–and me. Tonight I seared the tomatoes in a mid-sized cast iron skillet but elected to continue to roast in the oven in the same skillet rather than transfer it all to a baking dish. Worked just fine.

20140424-225301.jpg

Nothing like a challenge, cooking the same dish differently for two different tastes.

