20140320-080922.jpg
Originally this recipe out of Whole-Grain Morrnings called for farro and apple, but I didn’t have either on hand. My wife looked at me with a bit of a dumbfounded expression, apparently astonished that I actually had on hand what she considered sorta exotic ingredients. Kamut I had made the night before and it was handy. Dried cranberries? I often have those in my pantry. Pears? Well, no apples, but the pears were good. Hazelnuts? I usually have a pound or two of those. And coconut oil? Well, doesn’t everyone? 🙂

So–breakfast fixins’ ready! Let’s see how it works. It’s about 1045PM now and all the ingredients are gathered. I just have to toast the hazelnuts tomorrow morning, then dice the pear and sautĂ© them in the coconut oil, add the rest of the ingredients and heat the whole mess up.

20140320-080216.jpg

The coconut oil really makes this dish interesting, and while she recommended yogurt for a garnish along with some honey for sweetener, the combination of the existing ingredients lent it plenty enough sweetness for both of us.

Very delicious (and when I opened up the yogurt container and was met with something green, well…time for a new container, I guess).

