20140317-202715.jpg

This is a typical night, I suppose. What? No, really. I bought about a pound of a good roasting salmon, a pound of broccoli, and we had all we needed. When I got home, I put together the rice vinegar and capers with a hot pepper and put it aside.

Broccoli and salmon doused with olive oil, salt and pepper. Put in the oven for about 30 minutes. Drizzle the vinaigrette over the Brock and the salmon. Pop open some Chenin Blanc. Done.

Now, that’s all well and good, but for me, the special aspect of the dinner were the appetizers: montaditos.

Montaditos or montados are little morsel bites found in Spanish tapas bars; slices of baguette with varied toppings. Tonight as my wife swooped in the front door with an appetite not to be denied, I pulled out a few slices of baguette, the boquerones I made the other night (fresh anchovies marinated in vinegar, then drizzled with olive oil, garlic, salt, and parsley), and put them on the toasted baguette slices. I also put some store-bought sun-dried tomato spread on the other, and two quick appetizers did the trick.

The boquerones still in the olive oil.
.

20140317-205929.jpg

One fine day I’ll have a big tapas dinner party for a dozen people, start with the montaditos, some other dishes, and have the time of my week.

Who’s interested? And if you are, bring two more friends…or more. This Sunday would work fine.

Hee Hee.

