20140224-204120.jpg

Omigod, its meatless Monday…purely unintentional.

I started out with a simple theme of Spanish cuisine and then it kinda got twisted around and inside out. First of all, rather than making patatas bravas (fried potatoes with romesco sauce) I opted to make tofu bravas, lightly frying small tofu cubes and making a quick romesco sauce made from piquillo peppers, garlic, roasted hazelnuts, olive oil, and a bit of sherry vinegar. My wife found it mildly ‘spicy’ which may have been the half clove of garlic, I don’t know. It had a ‘bite’ I must admit and was passable as a romesco. Usually this sauce needs a little more time in a skillet, gently simmering all the ingredients, but there was little time.

To add to this I opted for baked parsnip fries which was pretty simple. Parsnips are nice and sweet and hey–don’t they look just like regular fries, huh? Delicious; probably the best dish of all three.

It was rounded out with a bit of sautéed chard in olive oil and garlic with, as it turns out, a tad too much Patis (Filipino fish sauce). Waay salty…at least to our tastes.

20140224-210410.jpg

All in all, the meal has potential. Certainly adequate with the parsnip fries taking the top honors. And I gotta admit, having a vegetarian dinner makes me feel kinda righteous. Sorry, can’t help it.

