20140216-082536.jpg

I was so impressed with the flavor of the store-bought Demi-glacé sauce from The Pasta Shop, a local and pricey high-end deli and how well it went with our duck breast that I immediately started looking (again) into the process of how it’s made.

Slowly. Labor intensive. Worth my time? Roast your bones and or veggies for up to an hour in the oven, then cover with cold water and simmer for several hours. That gives you brown stock. This sauce can be used for a variety of dishes, but if you take this brown stock and then reduce it down even further to a thick, syrupy glaze…Demi-glacé.

The brown sauce can take several hours on the stovetop, and reducing it down to the next step adds another several hours. Still planning to make this? Or will you simply pop over to your nearest fine delicatessen and grab a frozen pint of it out of their freezer?

At the Pasta Shop near my home, they had mushroom, duck/veal, chicken, beef, and vegetable Demi-glacé, all available in pint or half-pint containers, mostly for about $7-8. The veal/duck I bought was about 6 oz for $13.95! Well, considering how much time it would take to make it myself, that’s a #%$&ing bargain.

When we finished our Valentine’s Day meal, I had a load of this delicious sauce left over and out most of it in the freezer for, perhaps, the other duck breast I had in my freezer for another day. Instead, I thought it might go nicely over some scrambled eggs as well as the sliced Pommes duchesse laid over them.

But…as my wife pointed out, the sauce is so flavorable that all the eggs and potato added was texture or mouthfeel–the actual taste of the eggs and potato was simply drowned in the sauce.

Live and learn. The sauce needs a strong flavor of meat to stand on its own, otherwise…not so fantastic a pairing.

