No picture, folks; sorry–it just got inhaled.

I wanted something simple for dinner tonight, so of course sandwiches always fit the bill, but when you have only boring loaf sandwich bread in the house and pita bread….well…hmm. Pita bread. I was loathe to drop another $4-5 on some panini-style bread or a ciabatta, and anyway, I try to eschew additional carbs whenever possible.

And pita bread? I only had minis, too, which were no more than 80 calories apiece, anyway.

Shopping was simple: got an heirloom tomato, a ball of fresh mozzarella, and a quarter pound of honey-baked low-sodium ham. The thin slice of ham fit well over the entire half of the pita bread like a large tongue extending. On top I put a few small slices of mozzarella, tomato, and some torn basil leaves. The dressing was Dijon mustard and balsamic vinegar. For an added touch, I cracked a couple of pieces of Parmesan crisps on top before I folded the bread over itself. Moreover, as the mozzarella and tomato were wrapped, as it were, by the ham slice, there were no worries about a wet, slithery sandwich.

Onto the nonstick skillet they went, held down flat by a small six-inch cast iron skillet, my ‘panini press’ for the evening,

Reaction? Wife was duly pleased with the combination while I was merely…pleased. It wasn’t bad for a quickie sandwich, though I found that I could easily have made another to accompany it.

Meanwhile–some new purchases from this weekend. I have no real idea what to do with a couple of these items, but I’ll have fun figuring it out. First, at a kitchen discount store, a pasta maker for $19.95! Couldn’t pass it up. These usually go for $50-100. Yeah.

20140128-072722.jpg

These two are Indian items–a stainless steel spice box and their version of a wok–the karahi.

20140128-072931.jpg

20140128-072945.jpg

Finally, here is a little Spanish cheese I bought a few days ago from Cowgirl Creamery. It’s from sheep’s milk and is gooey and soft and a bit stinky like Epoisses.

20140128-073203.jpg

