20140115-205232.jpg
I bought white Dover sole on Tuesday. Later that day I realized that this wouldn’t work with the accompaniment and the sauce I had planned so I bought some catfish and went home. The next day at work while at lunch I saw a magazine with classic Italian dishes in it and shot a pic of a recipe for seared tuna with caponata relish. It looked simple and healthy. I bought nearly a pound of wild caught tuna.

I am a fish whore.

Plainly I can’t resist the siren call of these beautiful, succulent looking fish in the case, though more to the point… I can’t remain loyal to a recipe for very long. Oh, well, let the ages and any possible grandchildren judge me, tonight I’m making tuna with caponata.

But..,what is caponata? It is a Sicilian dish based of eggplant which includes a sweet as well as a savory punch to it, and is often accompanied with fish. The recipe I found called for 3 ounces of each of the following: red onion, red bell pepper, zucchini, and eggplant. All fried in olive oil, and appended to it a mix of raisins, capers, sugar (which I replaced with agave syrup), pine nuts, and pistachios. Other than fried in olive oil, the remnants of which I drained from the mass of it, it is a pretty good, healthy dish that is at once sweet and sour at the same time. I found other recipes, some of which included tomatoes, celery, and even chocolate, so the permutations are myriad.

I began by salting and seasoning the tuna.

20140115-203821.jpg

Meanwhile, I began with the caponata, with lots of dicing and cutting, and ended by adding to the cooked veggies the raisins, pine nuts, agave syrup, capers, pistachios, as well as a tablespoon of white balsamic vinegar which I’d never really heard of
before. This all got combined and put aside to rest a bit…and drain off extra oil.

20140115-204155.jpg

So…back to the tuna. About 90 seconds per side in a lightly oiled skillet, then sliced into little fillets, plate it with the caponata, and once again its a wonderful dinner.

20140115-205028.jpg

Doesn’t that look gorgeous? Woof!

20140115-205051.jpg

