20140114-202237.jpg
Thank you Mr Internets.

As I continue to (mildly) struggle with the prospect of controlling my diet a bit more carefully due to this looming threat of possible diabetes down the road, not to mention the fact that I’ve become relatively equated with ‘fancy ass haute cuisine’ (it’s really not, it’s actually just simple French fare…that incidentally tastes damn good), to move to…healthy dishes. Kinda heartbreaking for me.

Moreover, cream, sugar and high carbohydrates has its health detractors, as well.

Tonight I made from ivillage.com a pretty good diabetic-friendly meal–Marjoram-Grilled Lamb with Arugula, Lima Beans, and Port-Mustard Dressing which, quite frankly, was absolucking-futely delicious.

Start with a gorgeous chunk of boneless lamb sirloin, marinate it briefly with marjoram, garlic, olive oil, and salt and pepper. Here: a beautiful piece of lamb sirloin and upper leg.

20140114-202411.jpg

If I’d had the time despite the instructions, I would have let it sit for at least thirty minutes. As it turned out, it wasn’t really necessary. As I don’t often cook lamb, it was almost like new. I took the meat and placed it on the skillet and seared it on all three sides for about 15 minutes or so, and then put it skillet and all in the oven at 350 to get to a nice medium rare (125F) according to the thermometer stuck in it. And so it was.

While the meat rested…

20140114-202555.jpg

I combined the arugula and Lima beans and put together the port mustard vinaigrette. Port, minced shallot, mustard, and olive oil, and combined them. I then put the salad base down and sliced the lamb and laid it on the salad. Poured ourselves a glass of white Pinot Grigio and we were rockin’ dinner.

A very satisfying, diabetic healthy dinner. I would have enjoyed a nice piece of pita bread and hummus, or maybe tabbouleh as well, but the salad and lamb was more than satisfying.

Find the recipe here.

