20140109-202951.jpg

My friend from work lent me a copy of Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty cookbook, a vegetarian collection most notable in that it was written by a non-vegetarian chef. It is beautifully illustrtated with great photos of great food and I decided to start off with his version of Indonesian Mee Goreng (noodles stirred).

Given this is a vegetarian recipe, the primary spicing for this dish is a combination of a couple of soy sauces, ground coriander and cumin, and that’s about it. There was also an ingredient of Indonesian chili paste which I didn’t include, but I don’t see how the heat would have added much to the fairly bland spicing of this dish.

The textures are varied, though the egg noodles could have been a bit more thoroughly cooked. I think that the wok I used isn’t the best quality and I think I need the ‘proper’ wok. This doesn’t dissuade me from wanting to try more recipes from this book, but I’m still hopeful.

