20131211-213726.jpg

Ok, we can now removed Brussels sprouts from The List of Angela’s do not ever cook this for me ever. I mean…ever. As a kid, my mom would serve Brussels sprouts on a regular basis; I found them tasty but never bitter as many do, so when my wife sent me an email with a Momofuku Brussels sprouts recipe here, well…how could I resist?

Its a two-step process, this Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Fish Sauce Vinaigrette dish. Begin with the little tiny cabbages and trim them; removing any loose leaves. Cut them in half or in quarters depending on their size. Flip the oven on to 400F after tossing with a tablespoon or two of neutral oil (grape seed, canola, etc.) and put in the oven on a baking sheet for 15-20 minutes, checking them till they start to brown and darken but not quite getting charred.

Meanwhile, put the vinaigrette together which is fish sauce, sugar, rice vinegar, mint, cilantro, and lime juice…and a few other items. It calls for a couple of Thai mouse-shit birds-eye peppers, as well, if you like it with heat, but frankly, even without the little Brussels sprouts are awesome.

Simple. Delicious. Easily made ahead. The only final, burning question? Is it Brussels sprouts or…brussel?

