In all my days, I can’t remember when I might have ever eaten a pomegranate.

Its a strange fruit, filled with seeds that defy normal categorization, but the other day while at Berkeley Bowl, I decided to buy one just for fun. It sat on our kitchen table for a few days, getting some afternoon sun but going nowhere near either of our mouths. Then, this afternoon, since I have decided to take advantage of our existing larder rather than indiscriminate purchases, I started with the pomegranate.

Pizza? Well, I’d recently made a fig pizza which went over pretty well, and while fruit in pizza still kinda goes against my grain, well…I just had the damn pomegranate, I had a pizza shell, so…there you are.

20131111-210107.jpg

I started with about three quarters of a pound of shallots which I slow cooked in a bit of olive oil for about ten minutes, till it was golden brown, sweetly caramelized, and delicious looking. I then added a couple of tablespoons of pomegranate juice to deglaze the pan, then let it cool.

I layered the pizza shell with the caramelized onions (so delicious looking!), added about three ounces of goat cheese, and distributed about 1/2 a cup of pomegranates over that. A sprinkle of thyme (no fresh as called for so I used dried) and twelve minutes later at 500F, we had Pomegranate, Thyme and Goat Cheese Pizza.

Really, surprisingly good pizza! Try the recipe here at relish.com!

