20130623-203038.jpg

I’m not sure if this is really a French dish or not, but given how duck isn’t really as big a staple of protein as it is in France, I’m calling this a French dish. In English, Crispy Duck Legs With Aromatic Vegetables, though no doubt in French it will sound like a moaning aural orgasm.

But put that thought out of your mind right now. Please.

I followed the recipe, browning the legs with a sprinkling of salt and pepper (though I added fresh thyme as well), removed the legs and proceeded to brown the veggies which included onion, carrots, and celery in the rendered duck fat from the legs (and a little more as well from my freezer). Cooked in the oven for 30 minutes at 400F, then another 30 at 350F.

As predicted, the veggies cooked in the exodus of duck flavor and fat were really the stars of this plate, with the duck meat, while pretty, coming across in a decidedly secondary role of prominence. The legs, cooked only for a short hour, remained a bit gamy and, while cooked well enough, not overly thrilling.

I’ve enough veggies left over for some other dish for later this week; perhaps a soup or a frittata.

