Last night after preparing a potluck for my wife to take to work, I broiled a couple of Filipino eggplants in order to save time this morning when I prepared Tortang Talong for breakfast.

This is a staple comfort food for many of my wife’s side of the family. Essentially one takes eggplant and bakes or broils it to doneness, remove the skin, mash it flat with a fork, then drizzle it with beaten egg, salt, and pepper in a skillet. It ain’t rocket science, but every time I’ve made it for her, she appreciates it, acknowledges the effort, and says ‘Closer this time,’ and I look up to the ceiling where the ancient Filipino gods look on in judgment and implore them for guidance.

Eggplant.
Egg.
Salt.
Pepper.

I do realize that I’m competing with an ideal in her head from her youth that I may never be able to match so I’m not overly concerned with success–as it may be impossible. Still, it looked pretty good on the plate.

20130516-082010.jpg

PS–the ever ubiquitous sweety drop peppers adorn her plate as edible garnish. She will add these to any dish to improve it (IHHO).

