I needn’t go into the details, but I did a stupid thing and I reaped the whirlwind from my wife. Consequently, I imagined that my dinner preparations would be for naught as my beloved stewed over my faux pas. Fortunately, over the years we’ve realized that fighting is a timesuck we can ill afford so she has taken remarkable steps in growth such that…usually, we are back on an even keel relatively quickly.

The Mexican soup I had prepared…soaking ancho chiles…pulverizing them with tomatoes and onions into a paste for the soup base…would it be for naught? Once that was accomplished, all that remained was adding the cooked chicken and the Posole to finish the Posole Rojo

The chicken was cooked tenderly, the hominy was there, but would the ancho-tomato-onion paste deliver with a solid flavor base? At first I resisted her admonition that the broth seemed watery and relatively flavorless (it definitely was under salted), thinking it was remaining spite…but alas, she seemed correct.

My wife likes to solve problems, so her solution to most culinary snafus these days is to simply add sweety drops, a sweet Peruvian baby pepper…to everything (sigh). Since I brought these home for her a couple of weeks ago, it is her culinary response to most anything. Yes, they were a nice… Interesting addition to the soup. And she also suggested adding some of last night’s chile de arbol salsa to the soup…which she thought saved it a bit from a lackluster, watery thinness whereas I… Well, was left with my original concern: why was the broth so flavorless?

Partly it could be our mutual lack of understanding about Mexican flavorings…with ancho chiles, what would the flavor be like? We didn’t know–we still don’t. So I still need to crack the chile code somehow.

The Posole Rojo was augmented by avocado, radish, oregano, and limes. Nice textural differences.
And my margaritas came out delightfully. We both nursed a second glass through the evening.

20130508-210554.jpg

20130508-210609.jpg

