I was having a trick julienning the celeriac root on the mandoline; it was pretty tough. I slipped and my thumb ran past one of the julienne blades. Left a clean little oval of my thumb and thumbprint right there on the cutting board.

Red stuff everywhere. Profuse bleeding (which ultimately coagulated), my face turned white, my body felt woozy, but of course I survived but with little dignity,realizing that I am a wimp.

We walked over to the Mexican restaurant La Mission on University and had a few tacos. The guy behind the counter gave me a couple of more band aids and a few napkins.

So: lesson learned…don’t force recalcitrant veggies into a mandoline. Get out your chef’s knife and do it the old fashioned way. #%$&!! Screw knife skills. I gotta work on common sense skills.

