After our quick dinner of a green salad and anchovies, olive oil, and garlic pasta, wife gave me my marching baking orders, yes MA’AM!! Her sweet tooth activated, I started defrosting the puff pastry and picking out the best strawberries which called for mixing with strawberry jam. Huh. No strawberry jam, but I did have some mango jam so I mixed it up with a bit of balsamic vinegar and a slight twist of fresh cracked black pepper and a little folding and twisting later, had four little Strawberry Four-Point Tartlets.

Though as you can see, two of the four-pointers hit a low when they popped open during baking. Strawberries and balsamic vinegar is a standard in desserts, though the cracked pepper is new to me.

20130427-215621.jpg

I’m sure they’ll be as delicious as they appear. I mean, strawberries, puff pastry? JEEZIS.

Two minutes later.
Huh…not that great. Wife DIDN’T love it. Me? Meh. Not sweet enough. Well, bake and learn…

