I’ve been cooking a lot lately, but haven’t been putting up pictures for some reason–mainly because perhaps some of the dishes that I made weren’t photogenic enough or,,,well, were simply too ordinary. While I don’t shy away from showing my failures here, all I can say is that they simply didn’t measure up to my standards of ‘wow’.

Basic Popovers

Ain’t it funny how the blend of flour, eggs, salt, milk and butter can come out so differently every time? Bread…pie dough…croissants, all so different. This morning it was 1.5 cups of flour, 3/4 teaspoon of salt, 1.5 tablespoons of melted butter, and three eggs. Mix. Pour into a heated popover pan pre-greased. 30 minutes at 425 degrees. Light, fluffy, and great with mango jam or apricot…or whatever!

20130427-101351.jpg

Yesterday morning I took out a frozen tart shell (unbaked) to make a little serve-two Quiche Lorraine. Eggs, milk, nutmeg, salt, bacon, cheese placed into the shell which needed to be pre-baked. That and a light cucumber salad for dinner.

20130427-101622.jpg

Finally, our darling daughter came over for dinner, a brief visit alas because she leaves for an art residency in Omaha on Saturday for three months, then a return to another residency in Belgium shortly after that. Some good news, though, is that she has been offered two professorship positions in art at a couple of local universities, both of whom are vying for her. She’s very happy and we are quite pleased for her, as well.

I made chicken ‘catchatory’ which wasn’t such a much, though the salad

20130427-102037.jpg

…of arugula, pine nuts, and shaved Parmesan was delightful.

For dessert, an Italian torta di mele (apple cake) which had the sweetest, creamiest looking batter I’ve seen in a long time.

20130427-102328.jpg

