Nothing like a nice, warm pastry, coffee, and an iPad to catch up with the news with.

Blueberries from the freezer, 3 cups of flour, a handful of crumpled, flaked coconut, a half teaspoon of salt, five Tablespoons of sugar, a teaspoon of baking powder, three quarters of a cup of butter (but if you use a full cup I won’t tell) grated into the dry ingredients, add the cup of blueberries, then…Mix it up. Add about a cup and a half of buttermilk (or milk or heavy cream). Combine into a big, shaggy, sticky mess. Cut out with pastry scraper or knife 7-8 wedges and put them into the freezer. Heat the oven to 375. Pull out the now colder scones you wish to serve, put on a baking pan, and reduce oven to 350. Bake for 25 minutes till browned (I baked them the requisite 30 minutes and they were slightly overdone on the bottom but still good).

Put the remaining scones into the freezer in whatever serving size makes sense for your week. For my wife and I, I put two each into a small plastic Baggie and freeze. The night before I take a bag of two out for my wife’s and my breakfast the following morning. This allows us four mornings of pastry breakfast heaven with less work.

iPad extra.

20130413-094029.jpg

