Last time I made this was for myself while Angela was in Manila–so what the hey, time for her to enjoy it. Technically, these aren’t chanterelles…I took a look at those lil’ boys at Berkeley Bowl West and they didn’t look too good–damp, kinda sticky, so I substituted them with hedgehogs.

Here are the ingredients…waiting for my wife.


It’s actually a fricasee, cooked with onions, garlic, and a bit of wine and heavy cream, gently anointed with a bit of fresh oregano. It goes just as well over boiled potatoes.

Result: flavorful but too subtle for my wife, who ended up using the tuna marinade on it (which she rather liked)…


Along with this we will have a little dish of maguro with a marinade of brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, green onion, and a sprinkling of sesame seeds. A mix of tomatoes, marinated Ste beans, and artichoke hearts with a dressing of lemon juice and hazelnut oil—mmm.

Overall, a pleasant enough repast–she really liked the salad and its dressing (which I threw together from found ingredients) so not a bad evening of successes…mixed, but success.


– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Location:Chestnut St,Berkeley,United States

